Telling girls what you do

Light

Tribal Elder
Tribal Elder
Hey Guys,

If any of you ever read Chase's blog about avoiding telling girls what you do (mainly if you are in a useful job), to avoid being a useful guy to her, then I would like to ask:

"Have you ever lied or made up something about yourself?"

I like to hear about other's opinion on this, whether it is a good thing to do or not.
I've done it a few times for fun and for experimental purpose only. I wanted to find out from girls what they think of me when I tell them what I do.
I've tried telling them the following:

"I'm a Banker"
"I'm a Forex Trader"
"I'm an Accountant"
"I'm a Musician"
"I'm a Real Estate Investor"
"Oh not much.. I like to stay home and spend some quality time with my family" - (I love this one.. they usually reply "What? So you're a bum?" lol)

Surprisingly for me, I find that some girls find you very attractive when you tell them certain things you do, and some find you boring etc.

Would anyone else like to enlighten me of their own experience?

Light

A Life Loquacious

Tool-Bearing Hominid
Tool-Bearing Hominid
Re: Telling girls you do

I'm fairly sure this must alter a bit according to where you're 'hunting' - for instance, in some parts of town, telling women you work for a big finance company will excite them; as to them it means you're a driven go-getter with expensive tastes - others will see you as a glib corporate whore out to impress with your unethically-sourced money and go cold on you. Personally I always try and emphasise the fact that my work isn't necessarily what I do. In fact these days if a girl asks me what I do I tend to just say 'all kinds of things, really - I have fingers in many pies' and flip the question back round on them. Then over the course of the interaction I just drop in the odd hint here and there. I know Chase has mentioned constructing your own reality on the blog, and after telling enough women this, it's true.