I am starting to lose faith in this whole game concept. is it worth it?

AdamEngineer

Space Monkey
space monkey
So my parents and I were talking about school and the past few years of me at college. This was the topic of the conversation because I had received an email of my confirmation that I graduated as an Engineer. Awesome!

Problem is that during school my parents insist my focus was elsewhere such as my social life and dating scene. It was new for me to enter college and have all this opportunity to meet people. But being incredibly awkward at the time and full of social anxiety and low self-esteem, it made it very difficult for me to go out, have fun, etc. This continued even after I found a few friends whom I am still friends with. They are right, my focus was off and my grades suffered, but I never actually neglected the work by partying. Ironically, I was depressed I wasn't going out, having a good time, and that in turn made my grades depressed.

This all being said, unless I explained to them the stuff I learned here wrong, the stuff I read in the rationale male, etc. They think my mindset when it comes to girls and dating is wrong. Completely. (one thing led to another so this became the topic. Please don't think this is a regular discussion or that we are weird.)

I am very insecure about this topic, because of how difficult it feels, or it seems, to me to get better at. So here's a list of the bullet points. I would like an honest assessment here because I don't know what to believe anymore. Please correct me if I am wrong, or have the wrong idea. Visual descriptions and details would help, since well I'm a bit literal sometimes.

ME:
1. Cold approaching is making opportunity where there is none. Cold approaching a girl is acceptable, as long as you are confident about it and don't come off as weird or needy.
PARENTS: