Socializing  Meeting people/new friends in a new city.

Estate

Cro-Magnon Man
Cro-Magnon Man
Hi guys,
I'm looking for some advice on making friends and moving to live in a new city where you don't know anyone.

My background:
I am Irish, but I moved to Boston. I initially did know some people but my core group of friends have all moved home, or elsewhere or are in relationships and I've come to the conclusion, we just don't see each other at all anymore and I need to meet new friends/people. Technically I'm not new to the city, but since the New Year the last of my close group are gone and it sort of feels for the first time like I'm totally new to a city where I don't know anyone.

Meeting girls:
I've never had a problem going to bars, concerts, events, or anything alone. I always had slightly different interests to a lot of my friends. This is not a problem.
If a girl asks "Where are you're friends", there are lots of ways through that so that's also not an issue.
But when seeing a girl you'd like to see past just sleeping with her, the inevitable "lets meet each others friends" becomes a problem. It comes off a little weird when I can't call up my guys and bring her along to meet them over a few drinks. Either I'm hiding her or embarrassed of her, or I don't have friends which is a red flag... or so I've experienced.

Meeting friends:
Now, I know the usual advice is "Go to a social event"... not an excuse, I swear I have trawled google for ACTUAL groups where there are a lot of 20-something professionals with some sort of common interest. It's not that common.
"Social Sports"... I've tried it. Great fun, I love the exercise, I've met plenty people but no lasting relationships. The problem I always find is that by their last 20's people HAVE their group of friends and become very hard to crack.

Tactics:
So I've read the articles here and elsewhere about being social and making friends.